Low Down and Dirty @ Hopedale

Fishing Report

Date: 02/7/16

Place: Hopedale

Wind: 0-10 mph from N, E, S

Tide: rising during the afternoon, over a foot

Moon: waning, almost dark moon

Solunar period: strong major period at 11:45-1:45 p.m.

Sky: sunny

Temperature: 55 at start – 59 F for the high

Water Temperature: 57 F (warming trend)

Water Level: about 2 ft. below normal, came up about a foot while fishing.

Water Clarity: about 1 ft. of visibility

Time on the water: 11 a.m to 5:30 p.m.

Water covered: About 3.5 miles

Other fishers: solo trip

 

Fishing the warming trend after a cold front, temperature was about 40 F earlier.

 

I combat launched near Breton Sound Marina. A Gulp! shrimp (LSU color) on a 1/8 oz jig was the bait of the day. I was able to pedal the Outback if I stayed in the little channel that was about 3 ft. deep through the marsh. First redfish was about 15”. I worked a little farther and picked up a fat 18” redfish that I kept since the wife made a dinner request. I was getting on a good bite and tried to put the stake pole down and discovered the bottom was hard with oyster shells. There were some deeper spots with 4-5 ft. of water and the fish were holding there. I picked off several 15-16” fish and put tags in them. There were bass in the mix and I landed a couple, then had a trout spit the bait back at me. I moved out of the little bayou into a wider shallow pond and had to do some paddling. The wind died and I tried the fly rod out. I was drifting as I cast, and was spooking lots of fish that were hugging the bottom in a couple of feet of water. Some looked to be pretty good size, but I could not get a bite. I circled around and headed back toward the truck. I picked up couple more reds, including the best of the day, a 24”. As I got to the junction where marsh meets the main canal I picked up a couple trout. Ended the day with 8 reds, 2 bass, and 2 specks. The fish liked the tight-lined Gulp worked slowly, hopping along the bottom.