Hopedale, Feb. 21, 2016

Fishing Report

Date: 02/21/16

Place: Hopedale

Wind: 5-15 mph from S

Tide: supposed to me low at noon, but S wind held the tide up. Water rising during the day, about half a foot

Moon: waxing, a few days before full

Solunar period: strong major period at 11:45-1:45 p.m.

Sky: Partly cloudy early, then overcast

Temperature: 70 at start – 76 F for the high

Water Temperature: 65-70 F (warming trend)

Water Level: a bit low, came up about a half foot while fishing.

Water Clarity: variable from muddy to very clean

Time on the water: 9 a.m to 4:30 p.m.

Water covered: About 7.5 miles

Other fishers: solo trip

I combat launched the Hobie Outback near Breton Sound Marina. I brought 2 flyrods, one with a spoon fly and the other with a large wolly bugger. As a back up I brought a spinning reel with a Gulp! shrimp (LSU color) on a 1/8 oz jig. As soon as I got out of the truck the gnats attacked and I went for the Victoria’s Secret Amber Romance and the Deep Woods OFF. The gnats and marsh mosquitoes were after me for a good portion of the day. I was able to pedal the Outback most everywhere I went today. I “went long” and headed to the most distal spot to the S since the wind was blowing from that direction. As I started into the ponds I wanted to fish I ran into 3 guys in a platform skiff that were leaving. They reported seeing several redfish but could not catch them. So I went in and gave it a shot. I went across the first pond and into a canal that joined a second pond and soon spotted a large redfish with its back out of the water. I tried to cast the spoon fly to it, but it spooked. Circled around and headed to another large pond and picked up a trout by blind casting along the way. I got a black drum and another small trout in the little bayou that connected to the pond. Heading back in with the wind, I tucked into some marsh and got another small speck, lost a probable redfish after about a minute. The wind and clouds were picking up, so I headed for the truck. Ended the day with 3 specks and the 19” black drum. The fish liked the tight-lined Gulp twitched along quickly.

Hopedale-Breton Sound Marina