July 2016summary

Fishing report for July –

Not much fishing this month. I was busy with work, took a vacation up to Buffalo and Toronto, CA, and the weather was uncooperative – when I did get an opportunity to fish there were too many lightning bolts in the sky.

I did get away on a Saturday morning for a little flyfishing at City Park in New Orleans. I caught a big Rio Grande Perch (cichlid) and a few bream and bass on my little red “chili pepper” fly.

The following day Jeff W. and I fished Hopedale Lagoon. We launched at Pip’s and covered a good bit of water in search of clean water but did not find any. Sight fishing was a no go as the stormy weather had the water stirred up. I saw something working over a school of baitfish and tossed an in-line spinner in the general area. I picked up a fat 27.5” redfish. I thought it was going to be a great day but that was the only fish I caught. Jeff also landed a 20” redfish on a spoon. We fished from about 6:30 a.m. until 2 p.m.

Fall is coming and the conditions will improve considerably.