Port Sulphur,11-6-2016

Fishing Report

Date: 11/6/2016

Place: Port Sulphur, LA

Wind: 10-15 mph with gusts – East / Southeast

Tide: Low was forecast at 10:17 based on Empire Jetty. I usually add + 2 hours for Port Sulphur, it fell about foot later in afternoon. Maybe slowed by wind.

Water Level: started high, above grass line, dropped below later in the p.m.

Water Temperature: 76 F

Water Clarity: nice green water to start, about 2-3 feet visibility, but clarity declined as the wind whipped it up

Water salinity: about 10 ppt based on taste test

Weather/sky: sunny, sometimes with high, thin clouds

Temperature: ~ 60 – 80 F for high

Moon: Waxing, about 1/3 from full

Solunar period: fair major period @ 6-8 a.m., minor at 2 p.m.

Time on the water: 7:30 to 4:30 p.m.

Water covered: ~ 7 miles

Other fishers: solo trip

Two #8 fly rods as usual, with a purple/gold spoon fly and a white clouser as per usual. (If it aint’ broke…). I also brought a light spinning reel/rod with a chartreuse Gulp! Swimming minnow with a 1/8 oz. jig head rigged 2.5’ under a cork. I troll this behind as a “trout finder” and cast it when the wind gets too rough to use the fly rod very effectively.

I was seeking speckled trout today, and I wanted to try some points and curves in the bayous. I got to my first point (Disappearing Point as I like to think of it, because I have watched it shrink and erode to become a much smaller feature in the 8 years I have been fishing here.) The wind was blowing across the point, leaving a sheltered side. I probed it with the Gulp! mullet and the cork went down almost as soon as it hit the water. In came a small speckled trout. I put the spinning rod away and tossed the clouser in there, catching a 12.5” speck and several throw backs, hooking up about every other cast. I decided to move on since it did not seem to hold fish of much size.

I switched to the spoon fly and fished a favorite little bayou but found bigger fish there. I caught a bunch of undersized reds from about 8-14”, but nothing remarkable. So I swung out into some open marsh and drifted downwind. The wind blew me up into a little cut and about the time I figured I needed to turn around it became clear that I could go further and pass into a large pond if I went through a narrow area. Then I noticed a redfish traversing through the cut. I slipped the spoon fly over to it with about a 25-foot cast and hooked it on the second strip. Nice 24” red that put on a good battle.

I drifted on through to the pond, spooking lots of fish as I came through, but not getting any hook ups. I went across the pond and into a little twisty bayou that opened into another pond. The SE wind was pushing pretty hard through the bayou, and I cast the spoon fly right into the middle and got a good hit, landing a 14” speck. I repeated this a few times, landing more trout and a few small reds. I decided to switch to the clouser and that worked just as well. There was a magical spot of about 8’ x 8’ that drew a strike every time a fly went through. I put about a dozen specks in the bag, cookie cutter fish of 13-14”. The bite fizzled after about an hour and I moved on, throwing the spoon fly.

It was getting later and I wanted to fish a few more little bayous that connected to ponds as the tide ran out. I went up one and spooked some fish but got no takers. I moved on to the next and saw a perfect scenario. The little bayou almost ended, but there was a little pass about the width of a kayak that opened into a pond about the size of a house lot. I staked out where I could intercept fish as they came out of the little pass and it was only a few casts until the line went tight from the bite of a 20” redfish. It took off and tried to go back up the little pass, then went down below me, then under and around the kayak, snagging the line on the rudder. I flipped up the rudder and got the line free and the fish was still on. It tried to run up into the weeds several times, but there was not enough water for it to make it. Finally it gave up, I got it in, and released it. That was a fun battle, and so I started back to the truck.

As I came back in I spotted some gulls diving on bait. It looked to be shrimp, as a saw some popping along on the surface. I threw the clouser in and got several strikes but they did not stay on. Finally I landed a few more undersized specks and one of about 14”. Then I loaded up the truck and fought off some biting gnats as I secured the kayak. I headed home with the sun slipping below the horizon. Days are getting shorter for sure. My wife and I turned the trout fillets into trout cakes….deeeelish!

